It’s Monday Again

It’s Monday again. I don’t know what Bob Geldoff had in mind when he created the legendary song I don’t like Monday, but I do share his contention. The week is long, the weekend is just too short.

My wife drove me to campus this morning, so I had the luxury to relax in the passenger seat. Well it’s less than 10 minutes drive though from our apartment to the campus. I however seized the opportunity to listen to R.E.M.’s song, Imitation of Life. I have been listening to that song again and again lately. The band considered that song the poppiest among their songs, which I could not agree more. But I like it a lot.

That song is now like a theme song for me. The song is so effective in keeping my spirit for studying high. I remember that during my undergraduate years in Bandung, I also had this kind of theme song. I listened to Swing Out Sister’s Breakout almost every morning before starting my day. Breakout was just so dynamic, it filled me with so much energy. When I was in junior high, it was Judas Priest’s Breaking the Law; while in high school it was Sweet Child O’ Mine of Guns N’ Roses.

I managed to overcome the I-Don’t-Like-Monday syndrome with that R.E.M song. Getting myself ready to face the day and the very tough week ahead. Even my two-year-old son seemed to enjoy the R.E.M. song. I could hear he sang loudly with his cute voice at the backseat of the car: ”Come on….come on….”.

When I came home this afternoon, there he was in front of the door, singing it again…”Come on, come on…”.

Imitation of Life

R.E.M

Ref:

That’s sugarcane, that tasted good
That’s freezing rain, that’s what you could
C’mon c’mon, no one can see you cry

This sugarcane
This lemonade
This hurricane, I’m not afraid.
C’mon c’mon, no one can see me cry

This lightning storm
This tidal wave
This avalanche, I’m not afraid.
C’mon c’mon no one can see me cry

That’s sugarcane that tasted good
That’s who you are, that’s what you could
C’mon c’mon no one can see you cry

2 Tanggapan to “It’s Monday Again”

  1. ewink Says:

    Skrg di Jkt lagi panaaaassss banget. Kalo lagi panas gini gak tau kenapa, theme song gw selalu Summer Sunshine dr The Corrs. Selalu sukses memompa energi.

    Nah, kalo sorenya, gw suka dengerin Kembang Padang Ilalang-nya Mukti Mukti. Sudah otomatis aja sih, kalo pun lagi gak denger, di kepala gw langsung bernyanyi sendiri.

  2. R.E.M. - Imitation of Life « S. P. S. S. Says:

    […] R.E.M. – Imitation of Life Published November 9th, 2006 Personal , Song Lyrics , Scraps My wife drove me to campus this morning, so I had the luxury to relax in the passenger seat. Well it’s less than 10 minutes drive though from our apartment to the campus. I however seized the opportunity to listen to R.E.M.’s song, Imitation of Life. I have been listening to that song again and again lately. The band considered that song the poppiest among their songs, which I could not agree more. But I like it a lot. That song is now like a theme song for me. The song is so effective in keeping my spirit for studying high. – P. Vermonte […]

Tinggalkan Balasan

